The gift of contentment

Hello worship leader. Music Director. Organist. Song leader. Kantor. Church musician.

Can I just pour some encouragement into your life for a minute?

I know of the long hours you put in. I know there’s a Sunday every week. I know that you’ve given up tons of time during holiday seasons to bring a sacrifice of praise to the Lord. I know you get paid in peanuts. Or maybe you get paid nothing. I know you haven’t gotten to sit with your family during service in weeks. Months. Years. I know you wrestle with wanting to give up. You desire to go to a church where you JUST SIT THERE. Where you don’t have to think about the service before you walk in the door on Sunday morning. Where you don’t get confused about what the service is about this Sunday because you’ve already planned weeks ahead. I know what it’s like to have someone ask you: “Do you work outside the home?”. Yeah. I work here. At your church. As your worship leader.

Last week, I heard a word of encouragement that hit me hard:

“Give your congregation the gift of contentment.”

Contentment. Whew. That’s a state of mind that doesn’t come naturally to me. I sidestep my conscience on this issue by thinking things like, “Contentment doesn’t bring necessary change” and “Contentment isn’t what we are called to in this world.”  I shouldn’t be content in my sin. But, I should be content in God’s calling on my life.

“How many of us are trotting out that tired cliché – “I’m waiting for God to open a door” – and he is all I love you, but get going, Precious Snowflake, because most of the time chasing the dream that I put in your heart looks surprisingly like hard work. Don’t just stand there, bust a move. (God often sounds like Young MC) –  Free to Flourish by Jen Hatmaker.

So, worship leader, or whatever your title is…I praise God for you. I continually thank God that He has given you the gift of leading others in the praise of His name. Today, rest in Him and in His calling on your life.

Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. – 1st Timothy 6:6-8 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

