CCLI’s Song Select

The music resource I rely on the most for my work as a worship leader is Song Select by CCLI. I could not do the things I do in our church music program today if I did not have this resource.

However, for the first 8 of my 10 years as a worship leader, I did not have this resource. Actually, the first time in my music ministry career that I actually had a “music supplies” budget was this year! Before then, if I wanted to do a new song, I took chord charts off of a free song sharing websites and painstakingly went through them to correct mistakes and/or simplify them. I then would transpose them into a congregation-friendly key by hand, which usually led to a few VERY wrong chords (that were still in the old key) at practice time that we had to correct:-)

A couple years ago, a member of one of my worship teams asked me how I got the songs we worked on. She noticed that I had written them all out in Microsoft Word and/or Google Docs and realized that this meant a lot of time. “Wouldn’t it save you time if there was just a resource where you could print out the song that are already ready to go?” I resounding “Yes, sister!” came out of me and, when she learned that I knew of a resource that did just that and also knew the price of it per year, she said she would donate that exact amount to our church every year so that we could utilize it.

Praise God for people like this friend. People in our congregations that see a need and meet it in such a real way. I can’t count how many times I’ve thought to myself “If I did not have this resource, I wouldn’t have been able to _______________.”

Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise—the fruit of lips that openly profess his name. And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.” – Hebrews 13:15-16 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

