Humble and Heartfelt

I have held many things in my hands, and I have lost them all; but whatever I have placed God’s hands, that I still possess.” – Martin Luther

My little girly went off to kindergarten today. After 10 years of having at least 1 child home with me most of the time, all 3 of my kids are in full time school. Whoa.

I am not very good at being a stay at home mom. I lose my temper and one of my kids has to remind me to “not get so frustrated, Mommy.” I let them eat Pop-Tarts for snack and they remind me that “there are 200 calories in these and they have no protein, Mom.” They exceed electronic limits on a regular basis and remind me what I have told them….that “2 hours is the most you want us to play, Mommy. Otherwise it hurts our brains.”

I don’t make Pinterest-worthy crafts with them. I don’t plan nature walks with scavenger hunts for them. I don’t home school them…and don’t even have the desire to look into it.

The list of what I DON’T do and what I’m NOT good at when it comes to being a mom could go on and on. But, please don’t think this is a blog filled with self-pity. Just because I know my shortcomings doesn’t mean I wallow in them.

No matter the countless ways I fail as a mother, I have a cure for it. The quote I started things off with today says it all. Each time I fail, I take my mothering out of my hands and put it into God’s. Heck, every time I succeed, I take no glory in that….it just makes me grateful to see Christ’s redemptive power working through me.

How do I put things in His hands? I humble myself. I get out of my own way. I apologize to my kids for being snippy with them. When they screw up, I remind them that God gave them that bull-headed personality they have for a reason but that doesn’t mean they should let it run wild. I am honest with them about the dangers of this world……I tell them know that there are people that may want to hurt them. I acknowledge that there are terrors in the night that are real.

Most importantly, I declare to them that the name of Jesus is powerful. Whisper it in the night when the shadows creep in, precious girly. Sing it in praise when He sets a path before you that you could have never planned for yourself, handsome boys. Shout it louder than the doubts and lies that run in your head, trying with all their might to bring you down, worthy Mama.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.” Phillipians 2:3-4 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

