Losing the battle

I am a loser. Every day of my life. I lose battles countless times a day. The battle against my anger. The battle against my pride. The battle against my self-righteous attitude. The battle against my laziness. The battle against my selfishness. And on….and on….

I know you are a loser too.

You told me yesterday that you knew you should have spoken up, but you didn’t. It’s not too late, I said. There’s still time. Speak out. God gave you that personality for a reason!

You told me last week that you try to rise above the misogynistic attitude at your church and just serve Him in spite of it but, you let your frustration out in front of your brothers and sisters in Christ the other day and it caused problems. That is normal and to be expected because you are human, I said. Apologies go a long way, even if the person you are apologizing to still has their wall up. 

You told me last month that you don’t know how to do this marriage thing now that you are parents. You resent him because you don’t think he gets how hard it is to be a mother and a professional woman. I get it. I SOOOOO get it, I said. This life thing + kids is harder than we ever thought, isn’t it? Don’t be afraid to lean into your spouse. Tell him your needs. Tell him your fears. He loves you. He cares. Even if he doesn’t respond in the way you need Him to.

You told me last year that you can’t get over the hurt in your past. It is ruining your marriage. It makes you a fearful parent. You are worth more than a life of fear and pain, I said. Not just because I say so….because He says so. You are His beloved child in whom He is well pleased. He does not see your shame. He sees the beauty that Jesus won for you when he busted out of that grave. He sees the Holy Spirit inside of you that adorns you with peace and comfort. Speak of these things to yourself when you go to bed and when you rise. Speak them out loud for all those demons and negative tapes in your head to hear.

Yes, we are all losers when you look at our lives battle by battle.

Praise God that we are not judged by our battle losses.

Satan says: “There she goes again. Another loss. See that God? She’s not really Yours.”

The Holy Spirit says: “Hold up. That is a lie. That battle loss is covered by the blood of Jesus. Your accusation is DENIED.”

Jesus says: “That’s right. I was there with her before that battle, I was there when the battle took place, and I was there when she lost the battle. At no time did I love her any less. My sacrifice is enough to cover this.”

God says: “Your accusations do not define her, Satan. She is MY daughter and I am proud to say that.”

Yes, we are losers in the battle. But PRAISE GOD that He has won the war.

“‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.” – Zechariah 4:6 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

