I don’t know.

I still remember the feeling of putting on my 1990’s WWJD (What Would Jesus Do?) bracelet. That squishy plastic catching on my arm hairs….the psychedelic colors clashing with any outfit I was wearing.

I remember, even as a pre-teen, wondering what in the world it was all about. I mean, why was I wearing it? What did it REALLY mean?

Today I came across this article by Mick Mooney….and it all came rushing back.

Long article short, Mooney says that a mom gave a WWJD bracelet to her son and he started to do very Jesus-y things…he becomes friends with prostitutes, he turned over tables in local church bookstores, and finally, he chastised his momma for protesting in front of abortion clinics because “she was not without sin so she shouldn’t cast the first stone”.

Well, momma didn’t like her son’s “version” of Jesus so, she took away the WWJD and gave him a WWAPD (What Would A Pharisee Do?) bracelet instead.  The results were as follows:

Since her son has been wearing the new (WWAPD) wristband, looking at it to help him make his decisions, he has become a dedicated tither, a public prayer warrior, an active condemner of ‘sinners,’ a passionate defender of the Old Covenant law, and has a great reputation as a godly young man amongst other religious people.

Needless to say, the mother is very happy now. She only wishes Jesus would take notice and follow her son’s good example.

Oh, snap.

I thought about this article a lot today as people talked of Brittany Maynard’s assisted suicide death. I read articles and blogs and listened closely for something…..a little something called certainty. There was a lot of it and that made me squirm.

Why do we feel, as Christians, that we have a God-given right to claim we have THE answers on life choices? Can a young woman be pro-”death with dignity” and love Jesus? Yes. Can a mom who will die from cancer in the near future choose to let God decide the timing of her death and love Jesus? Yes. Yes to both. This is a BOTH/AND situation, not an EITHER/OR!

I am NOT certain of what the “right” answer in the assisted suicide debate is….and that’s ok. I don’t have to have the answer to have love and compassion for anyone struggling with this impossible decision.

And you know what? I think saying “I don’t know” or saying nothing at all is one way to be the hands and feet of Jesus. To NOT meet the trials of this world with the certainty that your view is the only way to righteousness. In fact, our views and our thoughts contain no speck of righteousness in them. Jesus is my righteousness. God is our peace. The Holy Spirit is your comfort. You are His and He is yours. Forever.

It is because of God that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God–that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption.” – 1 Corinthians 1:30

8 thoughts on “I don’t know.

  1. It’s like you read my heart and wrote it down (but much more eloquently than I would have). 🙂 I don’t know the answer of what is ‘right’ here, but I know that my heart aches for her and her entire family. I’m not sure what Jesus would have told her if he were here, but I know he would support me in my compassion for her.

    Like

  2. When I think of death with dignity, Rory Leeb comes to mind. Each day he faithfully put his life in Jesus’ hand and was a walking testimony as to what it means to follow Christ. I firmly believe that in his last days he drew closer and closer to God in a way that so many of us long for. The legacy that he left his family will continue for many generations! . Rory made the most of every opportunity to be a witness of the love of Christ. God used him in a powerful way to touch the hearts of many and to bring glory to Himself. Which is really what it’s all about. Everything we do should be to glorify our Father, just like Jesus did. Jesus does not tell us that there won’t be suffering or sacrifice. Look at what He endured and He was the only perfect One.He also knew what kind of death awaited Him. Thank you Jesus!!! For not taking the easy way out!! As He sweated blood in the garden of Gethsemane, He chose obedience over self. Thank you Jesus!!!! For dying a criminal’s death even though You were pure and spotless. A perfect sacrifice for all!!! How He poured out His blood for us, a drink offering for the world. He endured the shame of the cross.
    No one but God, knows what precious moments were lost because she, not God, decided to end her life early. She is in God’s hands now and always was.

    Like

  3. Very thoughtful post. As a nurse I have seen many patients suffer and can understand Brittany’s wish for dignity. I think the better point, however, is that it was her choice to do what she felt was right for her and that it is not our job nor our place to judge her. I find that many people want to weigh in on how others should be living or not living their lives, but should instead be focusing their energy on how they are living theirs.

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Kelly! Invest 100% in loving others. Yes. I think if you are close enough with someone then that love can look like challenging some of their choices (like a husband and wife, for example)…but, that is what relationship looks like….and if there is no relationship, then judgement is certainly not warranted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

