Freedom Friday! (Beware: Feminism Inside)

I came across a quote that has haunted me for the last 2 days.

“The fact that I am a woman does not make me a different kind of Christian, but the fact that I am a Christian makes me a different kind of woman.”

pendrawing
– Elisabeth Elliot

Why did this quote haunt me? Because it’s true….but, not widely accepted. For something to not be acceptable in the church world, all that needs to be said is “it’s just not biblical”…..and geez – who can argue with that?

Well, here I go.

I could write blog post after blog post about what it means to be a female working in a church. It’s not easy, to be honest. And I’m not sure that men get it. Frankly, I’m not sure that they have the ability to get it.

Hear me now: not because men are dumb or clueless. No way, no how. One of the reasons I am pro not having TV in our house is that I can not stand to see how men, especially fathers, are degraded on commercials. Like this one.

Embarrassing. For all humankind. Everywhere.

What I AM saying here is this: Men, you have no ceiling when it comes to church work. The thought never runs through your head: “I wonder if this church thinks it’s ok if I lead worship/pray/read the bible in front of the congregation.” For me, that is a question that I ask myself a lot.

Things I’ve been told by pastors and church leaders, male and female alike:

1. “You can lead a bible study with women or children but, to lead a man in the study of scripture….well, that’s just not biblical.

2. “Just like Paul, I do not permit women to read scripture in a church service. Not biblical…no way.”

3. “Well yeah, you can lead worship – EVEN THOUGH you are a woman – because you are under the authority of a male pastor. That’s biblical.”

Back to our quote:

“The fact that I am a woman does not make me a different kind of Christian, but the fact that I am a Christian makes me a different kind of woman.”

This I believe.

1. I believe I can lead a mixed group of men and women in the study of scripture. I just did that last night at the beginning of my worship team practice. We talked about the first verses of Psalm 40…about what it means to wait on the Lord and how to “sing a new song” to Him.

2. I believe any woman can read the good news to any color, sex, race, or creed, simply because I believe that the good news is for everyone. “Where 2 or 3 are gathered My name, there I am also” gave no caveat on what the girl/boy ratio of that gathering should be.

3. I believe in honoring the authority figures in my life. When I lead worship at a church, the Pastor there is an authority figure over me. Because he is a man? No. Because He has been appointed and gifted by God to lead His people in the praise and honor of His name.

Praise God that He has called us all His children.

By the authority granted to me, by the King of all Creation, the Righteous Son who died for me, and Spirit who dwells inside of me, I hereby proclaim freedom to you, men and women, in the name of Jesus!

One thought on “Freedom Friday! (Beware: Feminism Inside)

  1. Pingback: Daddy love | The Greatest Treasure

Leave a Reply

