Marriage and Ministry

The deeper you go in ministry, the more the enemy wants to be an irritant in your marriage.” ― Kevin Thoman

Can I get an AMEN from somebody on that quote? Any other couples out there feel the constant attack of Satan on their marriage? I know we are not alone in this battle, no matter how much that slimy enemy tries to make us believe we are.

Oh yes, he comes to steal, kill, and destroy. He fights tooth and nail to steal the joy of us serving the Lord together. He works hard to kill our ministry by making us both feel unworthy and unqualified. Sure, he wants to destroy us….but, even more than that, he wants us to destroy each other. That would be his greatest victory in our ministry. Once upon a time – a horrible, exhausting time –  he almost had that victory. Thanks be to God for seeing fit to pull us from the brink with the birth of our little girl who is now a big Kindergartner! But, that’s a whole other blog series:-)

I am just so, so lucky blessed to have a husband who is also my ministry partner. Last night, we brought the good news to a local youth group that Nothing Ever Could Separate Us from the grasp of our Lord. We proclaimed together that, because we have a mighty God, Whom Shall I Fear? And finally, we accompanied 2 high school girls as they led their peers in marveling at How He Loves us. Beautiful!

It should come as no surprise to us that both before and after that event, we were snippy with each other. And, after we put our kiddos to bed last night, we sat down to practice for the next music ministry event…which is tonight’s practice. Back to back nights of music ministry means back to back days of the enemy’s fight to destroy our marriage.

jeremy and natalie

Well, take this, Satan.

I love my husband. He is a man of integrity and a man of his word. He loves the Lord and he loves his family.

I love our ministry together. I delight in the fact that we have been leading worship together since the mid-90’s. 1995 to be exact. And, in the spirit of the 90’s, I will now sing the most well known TV show theme song of that year to commemorate our 2 decades of love and ministry:

No one could ever know me, no one could ever see me,
(seems you’re the only one who knows what it’s like to be me)
someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with,
someone I’ll always laugh with, even at my worst I’m best with you, yeah!

I’ll be there for you (when the rain starts to pour),
I’ll be there for you (like I’ve been there before),
I’ll be there for you, ”cause you’re there for me too!

I wonder if any of the kids at youth group last night would even know that song? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Marriage and Ministry

    • Good to know I finally wrote something that got your attention;-)

      I dug that song up by:
      1. Going to YouTube
      2. Searching for “1995”
      3. Trying to make a Bon Jovi song work
      4. Finding the Friends theme song and rejoicing in the bridge lyrics

      Good times….

      Like

Leave a Reply

